Research Results of the
Department of Hydrogeology and Environment

Institute of Geology at the University of Würzburg, Germany
   
 

 GRC-Project: Re-evaluation of the Natural Groundwater Resources of Cyprus

Prof. P. Udluft, Prof. J. Schaller, Dr. C. Kuells, A. Dünkeloh, J. Mederer, B. Reger


The GRC-project (Re-evaluation of the Groundwater Resources of Cyprus) is financed by the Geological Survey Dept. of Cyprus and accomplished in cooperation with the Department of Hydrogeology and Environment of the University of Wuerzburg, the Planning Bureau Prof. Schaller (PBS) and the company Hydroisotop. The primary objective is the re-evaluation of the groundwater resources with regard to quality and quantity. This is mainly achieved by analysing the changes in condition of important aquifers and by generating groundwater models for selected aquifers. An observation network has therefore been installed.
Another important objective is the preparation of water balances for important catchment areas and for the whole island. Groundwater-flow-models are generated to analyse groundwater-dynamic processes. It is necessary to develop satellite image based land use maps, accomplish isotope-investigations to examine groundwater recharge in detail and to carry out further hydrogeologic and hydrologic field work. Further on, water balances for the following decades are estimated based on circulation scenarios modeled for the expected increasing greenhouse effect.
Based on the results of the investigations measures and recommendations are defined respecting the reasonable use and protection of the natural water resources. The harmonisation to EU standards are an important issue in this context. The assistances at the local authorities are integrated in the process and are introduced to the used methods and techniques.

Extended abstract of the GRC-project: grc_extended_abstract.pdf (3.403 KB)

 



Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM

Forschungsergebnisse des
Fachbereichs Hydrogeologie und Umwelt

des Instituts für Geologie der Universität Würzburg
   
 

GRC-Projekt: Neubewertung der natürlichen Grundwasserressourcen von Zypern

Prof. P. Udluft, Prof. J. Schaller, Dr. C. Kuells, A. Dünkeloh, J. Mederer, B. Reger


Das GRC-Project (Re-evaluation of the Groundwater Resources of Cyprus) wird vom Geological Survey Department of Cyprus (Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources) finanziert und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehr- und Forschungsbereich Hydrogeologie und Umwelt (Universität Würzburg), dem Planungsbüro Prof. Schaller (PBS) sowie der Firma Hydroisotop durchgeführt. Hauptziel ist die Neubewertung der natürlichen Grundwasserressourcen Zyperns nach Quantität und Qualität. Hierzu gehört insbesondere die Untersuchung der Zustandsveränderungen der wichtigen Aquifere der Insel sowie die Erstellung von Grundwassermodellen für ausgewählte Aquifere. Die Installation eines Beobachtungsmessnetz ist für diese Zwecke vorgenommen worden.
Ein wesentlicher Projektschwerpunkt liegt außerdem auf der Erstellung von Wasserhaushaltsbilanzen für die wesentlichen hydrologischen Einzugsgebiete sowie für die ganze Insel. Die Entwicklung von satellitenbildbasierten Landbedeckungskarten, Isotopenuntersuchungen für Detailuntersuchungen zur Grundwasserneubildung sowie weitere hydrologische und hydrogeologische Geländearbeiten sind hierfür notwendig. Zudem erfolgt eine Abschätzung der Wasserhaushaltsbilanz für die nächsten Jahrzehnten auf Basis von simulierten Klimaänderungen im Zusammenhang mit Zirkulationsszenarien unter zu erwartenden verstärkten Treibhausbedingungen.
Auf Grundlage der Untersuchungsergebnisse werden Maßnahmen und Empfehlungen für einen sinnvollen Umgang und Schutz mit den natürlichen Wasserressourcen definiert. Wichtig ist hierbei auch die Angleichung an EU-Standards. Die Mitarbeiter der örtlichen Behörden sind in den Projektverlauf eingebunden und werden in die verwendeten Methoden, Techniken und Verfahren eingeführt.


Ausführliche Projektbeschreibung in englischer Sprache: grc_extended_abstract.pdf (3.403 KB)

 
Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM