HU - Hydrogeology and Environment

Journal of the Dept. of Hydrogeology and Environment, University of Würzburg (ISSN 09309-3757)

Editorial office: BGI, Greisingstr. 8, 97074 Würzburg, GERMANY

Content ... Order
 
Vol. 26 (2001)



Abstract



Vol. 26: 

Hydrochemistry and Isotope Hydrology of Groundwater Resources in the Hammad Basin (Jordan)

Mutewekil Obeidat


Abstract:
Hydrochemical and isotopic investigations of groundwater resources in the Hammad basin have been carried out. Three aquifer units with different hydrochemical and isotopic characteristics were identified.
The groundwater of the Rijam aquifer of the upper system can be classified as fresh in Muqat-Ruweishid area and northwest Hammad and brackish in the other parts of the study area. The groundwater of the Amman-Ajlun and Triassic aquifers is classified as brackish water. The temperature gradient of Rijam groundwater is calculated to be 3.7 °C/100 m. The groundwater resources have been clustered in four main groups, differentiated from each other by the dominating anions and cations and their total dissolved solids contents.
Four geochemical mixing models of the Rijam groundwater with flood flow have been constructed. The results of simulation shows that the groundwater quality will be improved with increasing mixing ratio of flood water.
Isotopically, most of the groundwater resources falls below the Global Meteoric Water Line (GMWL) and far away from the Mediterranean Meteoric Water Line (MMWL), suggesting that the waters are ancient and were recharged in a different climate other than Mediterranean. The groundwater of Triassic and Amman-Ajlun aquifers is depleted with respect to stable isotopes in comparison with that of Rijam aquifer. The Deep Hammad (Amman-Ajlun aquifer) has the most depleted stable isotope values ever recorded in Jordan.
Excluding groundwater of the Rijam aquifer in the unconfined section, the groundwater resources in the Hammad basin are nontritiated. This indicates a pre-1952 recharge history. Conventional age of Rijam groundwater ranges from 22000a before present to more than 48000a. The groundwater of the Rijam aquifer from Muqat-Ruweishid area has conventional age which is lower than that from the other parts of the study area and of the same aquifer. This groundwater is tritiated signifying mixing of old and recent water. Generally, the pumped groundwater from the study area does not contain recently recharged water and consists mainly of palaeowater recharged during past pluvials (fossil groundwater). Using isotope techniques, mixing of two water groups have been proved. The calculated mixing ratio is about 50 %.
The groundwater recharge to the upper aquifer system was estimated using the computer program MODBIL (Udluft, 1994) to be 1.1 mm/a, representing 1.48 % of the long term precipitation. Recharge estimation using the chloride method resulted in 0.11 mm/a average value. This represents recharge through soil matrix and should be taken as semiquantiative, as the ZFP could be located at higher depths. Recharge can take place through macro pores, which are not considered in this study. Deeper soil profiles should be taken. Groundwater pumped from the unconfined section of the Rijam aquifer east of the Hammad basin was modeled to contain recent water in the range of 1.5 to 3 %.
Using a GIS environment, elevation and slope models for the study area were constructed. The different chemical and isotope parameters have been presented and integrated concerning geology, groundwater levels and groundwater flow direction.


Paper language: english





18.- € Order

 



Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM

HU - Hydrogeologie und Umwelt

Zeitschrift des Lehr- und Forschungsbereichs Hydrogeologie und Umwelt (ISSN 09309-3757)

Redaktion: BGI, Greisingstr. 8, D-97074 Würzburg

Inhalt ... Bestellung
 
 
 
Heft-Nr. 26 (2001)

Hydrochemistry and Isotope Hydrology of Groundwater Resources in the Hammad Basin (Jordan)
[Hydrochemie und Isotopenhydrologie des Hammad Beckens (Jordanien)]

Obeidat
, Mutewekil (2001), 177 S., 88 Abb., 57 Tab., 2 Anl.

18.- € Heft bestellen




Zusammenfassung



Heft 26: 

Hydrochemistry and Isotope Hydrology of Groundwater Resources in the Hammad Basin (Jordan)

[Hydrochemie und Isotopenhydrologie des Hammad Beckens (Jordanien)]

Mutewekil Obeidat


Kurzfassung:
Im Hammad-Becken wurden die Hydrochemie sowie die Isotope des Grundwassers untersucht. Drei Aquifer-Einheiten mit unterschiedlichen hydrochemischen und isotopischen Charakteristiken wurden identifiziert. Das Grundwasser aus dem Rijam-Aquifer des oberen Systems kann im Bereich Muqat-Ruweishid und im nordwestlichen Hammad als Frischwasser und im den anderen Bereichen des Untersuchungsgebiets als Brackwasser bezeichnet werden. Die Grundwässer der Amman-Ajlun- und triassischen Aquifere werden als brackisch eingestuft. Der Temperaturgradient des Rijam- Grundwassers wurde mit 3.7 °C/100 m berechnet. Die Grundwasservorkommen konnten in vier Hauptgruppen eingeteilt werden, die sich voneinander in ihren Hauptanionen und -kationen sowie der Gesamtmenge der gelösten Bestandteile unterscheiden.
Es wurden vier geochemische Mixing-Modelle des Rijam-Grundwassers mit Sturzflutwasser entwickelt. Die Ergebnisse der Simulationen zeigen, daß sich die Grundwasserqualität mit zunehmendem Mischungsanteil an Sturzflutwasser verbessert. Der überwiegende Anteil des Grundwassers liegt unterhalb der Global Meteoric Water Line (GMWL) und weit entfernt von der Mediterranean Meteoric Water Line (MMWL). Das legt den Schluß nahe, daß die Wässer alt sind und unter anderen Klimabedingungen als denen des Mittelmeerraumes gebildet wurden. Die Gehalte an stabilen Isotopen sind in den Grundwässern der triassischen und Amman-Ajlun-Aquifere in Vergleich zum Rijam-Aquifer vermindert. Der tiefe Hammad-Brunnen (Amman-Ajlun-Aqufer) hat die niedrigsten jemals in Jordanien gemessenen Werte an stabilen Isotopen.
Abgesehen vom Grundwasser des Rijam-Aquifers im ungespannten Bereich sind die Grundwasservorkommen im Hammad- Becken tritiumfrei. Das ist nur bei einer Neubildung vor 1952 möglich. Das übliche Alter des Rijam-Grundwassers reicht von 22000 bis über 48000 Jahren vor heute. Das Grundwasser des Rijam-Aquifers aus dem Bereich Muqat-Ruweishid hat ein geringeres übliches Alter als das Wasser in anderen Bereichen des Untersuchungsgebiets und im selben Aquifer. Dieses Grundwasser erhält sein Tritium durch Mischung von altem mit jungem Wasser. Generell läßt sich sagen, daß das im Bereich des Untersuchungsgebiets geförderte Grundwasser kein vor kurzem neugebildetes Wasser enthält und zum überwiegenden Teil aus Paläowasser, daß während der Pluvialzeit gebildet wurde, besteht. Durch Nutzung von Isotopen- Methoden wurde die Mischung von zwei Wässern nachgewiesen. Das berechnete Mischungsverhältnis liegt bei ca. 50 %.
Die Grundwasserneubildung im oberen Aquifer-System wurde mit Hilfe des Computerprogramms MODBIL (Udluft, 1994) auf 1.1 mm/a errechnet, was 1.48 % der Langzeitniederschlagsmenge entspricht. Die Neubildungsabschätzung mit Hilfe der Chlorid-Methode führte zu einem Durchschnittswert von 0.11 mm/a. Grundwasser aus dem ungespannten Bereich des östlich des Hammad-Beckens gelegenen Rijam-Aquifer enthielt in der Modellierung junges Wasser mit einem Anteil von 1.5 bis 3 %.
Mit Hilfe von GIS wurden Höhen- und Hangneigungsmodelle des Untersuchungsgebiets erstellt. Die unterschiedlichen chemischen und Isotopen-Daten wurden in Bezug auf Geologie, Grundwasserhöhen und –fließrichtungen dargelegt und eingepaßt.


Veröffentlichung auf: englisch, english abstract





18.- € Heft bestellen

 



Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM