HU - Hydrogeology and Environment

Journal of the Dept. of Hydrogeology and Environment, University of Würzburg (ISSN 09309-3757)

Editorial office: BGI, Greisingstr. 8, 97074 Würzburg, GERMANY

Content ... Order
 
Vol. 16 (1999)



Abstract



Vol. 16: 

Bestimmung der Grundwasserneubildung im semiariden Bereich Namibias mittels der Chlorid-Bilanz-Methode.

[Estimation of Groundwater Recharge in Semiarid Namibia Using the Chloride-Mass-Balance-Approach]

Jens Wrabel


Abstract:
In arid and semi-arid areas the estimation of groundwater recharge as a prerequisite for sustainable water resources management still poses major problems. Apart from vegetation and climatological factors the amount of infiltrating water and the rate of groundwater recharge strongly depends on the characteristics of the unsaturated zone. The thickness and the parameters describing the soil physics determine the infiltration capacity, evaporation and eventually groundwater recharge.

For the study area 'Hochfeld' in Namibia the estimation of groundwater recharge is carried out, using the chloride mass balance approach. In several soil profiles the chloride content in the soil matrix and pore waters is determined together with the parameters of soil physics. Using these parameters and chemical data, water and solute transport through the unsaturated zone at the study site is modelled.

The regionalisation of groundwater recharge is based on additional hydro-chemical groundwater data using a Geographical Information System (GIS). By means of cluster analysis different groundwater types are identified highlighting the heterogenity of groundwater composition in the study area. The processes explaining the local variations of groundwater compositions are explored with GIS techniques. Finally this allows the transfer from local data to regional maps of groundwater rechargeand the regionalisation of groundwater recharge.


Paper language: german; german abstract





16.- € Order

 



Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM

HU - Hydrogeologie und Umwelt

Zeitschrift des Lehr- und Forschungsbereichs Hydrogeologie und Umwelt (ISSN 09309-3757)

Redaktion: BGI, Greisingstr. 8, D-97074 Würzburg

Inhalt ... Bestellung
 
 
Heft-Nr. 16 (1999)



Kurzfassung



Heft 16: 

Bestimmung der Grundwasserneubildung im semiariden Bereich Namibias mittels der Chlorid-Bilanz-Methode.

Jens Wrabel


Kurzfassung:
Die Quantifizierung der Grundwasserneubildung in ariden und semiariden Gebieten stellt eines der Hauptprobleme bei der Entwicklung von zukunftsorientierten Nutzungsstrategien dar. Die Menge des infiltrierenden Wassers und die Neubildungsrate hängen - neben vegetationsbedingten und klimatologischen Voraussetzungen - von der Beschaffenheit der wasserungesättigten Bodenzone ab. Die Mächtigkeit und die physikalischen Eigenschaften dieser ungesättigten Zone lassen Rückschlüsse auf das Maß der Infiltration, der Evaporation und der Grundwasserneubildung zu.

Für das Arbeitsgebiet ‚Hochfeld' in Namibia erfolgt die Bestimmung der Grundwasserneubildung mittels der Chlorid-Bilanz-Methode. In mehreren Schürfen wird die Chloridverteilung erfaßt und parallel dazu werden die bodenphysikalischen Parameter ermittelt. Mittels der geochemischen und bodenphysikalischen Werte wird der Wasser- und Stofftransport modelliert.

Ein Ansatz zur Regionalisierung der Grundwasserneubildung basiert auf hydrochemischen Parametern und wird mittels eines Geographischen Informationssystems (GIS) vollzogen. Durch den Einsatz einer Klusteranalyse erfolgt eine Typisierung des Grundwassers. Anhand von GIS-Techniken werden die Ursachen für die lokalen Grundwasserverhältnisse analysiert. Auf Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse werden die punktuell gewonnenen Daten auf die Fläche projiziert und die Grundwasserneubildung über diese Fläche berechnet.


Veröffentlichung auf: deutsch





16.- € Heft bestellen

 



Webmaster: Joachim Mederer - IMPRESSUM